“Governors have a clearer understanding of the strengths and areas for improvement of the school, and the role they play in this. Through visits they have more detailed knowledge of teaching, pupils’ progress and behaviour. They have played their part in securing overall improvements in the school.”
(Woodlands School Ofsted 2015)

Click for more information

Chair of Governors

Mr Paul Nicholson

Appointed: 7/12/2004

Term of Office End Date: 5/12/2020


Mrs Julia Taylor

Appointed: 1/9/2019

Staff Governor

Miss Holly Wainwright

Appointed: 1/9/2019

Local Authority

Mr Edwin Thorpe

Appointed: 29/9/2000

Term of Office End Date: 28/09/2020

Ms Lucy Heath

Appointed: November 2018

Register of Business Interests (PDF)


Mr Ashley Silverstone

Appointed: 22/5/2018

Term of Office End Date:  22/05/2022

Mr Stuart Evans
Miss Rosa Smith


Finance & Facilities Committee

Paul Nicholson (Chair)
Julia Taylor

Premises & Health & Safety Committee

Edwin Thorpe (Chair)
Julia Taylor
Brian Clay (Ex-Officio)

Meeting Attendance

Governors Record of Attendance 2018-2019


Parent Governor Election

Notification of Parent Governor Election June 2019
Disqualification Rules
Nomination Paper

Previous Governors

Louise Blackburn
Bernard Wills

Governors receive regular training and all are trained in safeguarding, as well as the designated governor. Governors have a good overview of the budget to make sure that the school has a balanced budget and that it is efficiently used.
(Woodlands School Ofsted 2015)